CERN Accelerating science

G4-Med: a benchmarking system for Geant4 in medical physics

 

Web page under construction 

Purpose

The aim of the Geant4 Medical Simulation Benchmarking Group (G4MSBG) is to develop a fully automatised Geant4 benchmarking and regression testing system for medical physics applications, called G4-Med. A set of Geant4 Physics Constructors and Lists of interest for medical physics applications are tested. The tests are integrated in the geant-val test system to be executed for benchmarking and regression testing. The test are executed using the CERN computing infrastructure.

Collaborators

Coordinator: S. Guatelli (University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia)

Deputy Coordinator: P. Arce (CIEMAT, Madrid, Spain)

Collaborators list

|[[mailto:dbolst@uow.edu.au][D. Bolst]]|CMRP, University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia | |[[mailto:bordage@laplace.univ-tlse.fr][M.-C. Bordage]] | CRCT (INSERM and Paul Sabatier University), Toulouse, France| |[[mailto:cirrone@lns.infn.it][P. Cirrone]]| INFN Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, Catania, Italy | |[[mailto:miancortes@us.es][M. Cortes-Giraldo]] | Universidad de Sevilla, Sevilla, Spain | |[[mailto:cuttone@lns.infn.it][G. Cuttone]] | INFN Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, Catania, Italy | |[[mailto:deanc@uow.edu.au][D. Cutajar]] | CMRP, University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia | |[[mailto:Laurent.Desorgher@chuv.ch][L. Desorgher]] | Radiophysics Institute, Lausanne, Switzerland | |[[mailto: paolo.dondero@swhard.com][P. Dondero]] | SWHARD srl, Genova, Italy | |[[mailto:andrea.dotti@gmail.com][A. Dotti]] | former SLAC, Stanford, US | |[[mailto:bruce.faddegon@ucsf.edu][B. Faddegon]] | University of California, San Francisco, US | |[[mailto:Christian.Fedon@radboudumc.nl ][C. Fedon]] | Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, The Netherlands | |[[mailto:susanna@uow.edu.au][S. Guatelli]] | University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia | |[[mailto:incerti@in2p3.fr][S. Incerti]]| CENBG, Bordeaux, France | |[[mailto:Vladimir.Ivantchenko@cern.ch][V. Ivanchenko]] | Tomsk State University, Tomsk, Russian Federation | |[[mailto:Dmitri.Konstantinov@cern.ch][D. Konstantinov]] | IHEP, Protvino, Russian Federation | |[[mailto:kyriakioan@gmail.com][I. Kyriakou]] | Ioannina University, Ioannina, Greece | |[[mailto:glatyshe@cern.ch][G. Latyshev]] | IHEP, Protvino, Russian Federation | |[[mailto:michel.maire@lapp.in2p3.fr][M. Maire]]| LAPP, IN2P3, Annecy, France| |[[mailto:carlo.mancini.terracciano@roma1.infn.it][C. Mancini-Terracciano]] | Roma 1, INFN, Italy | |[[mailto:alfonso.mantero@gmail.com][ A. Mantero]] | SWHARD srl, Genova, Italy | |[[mailto:mihaly.novak@cern.ch][M. Novak]]|CERN, Geneva, Switzerland | |[[mailto:c.omachi.21@west-med.jp][C. Omachi]] | Nagoya Proton Therapy Center, Nagoya, Japan | |[[mailto:pandola@lngs.infn.it][L. Pandola]] | INFN Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, Catania, Italy | |[[mailto:alvpermol@gmail.com][A. Perales]] | Medical Physics Department of Clí nica Universidad de Navarra, Spain | |[[mailto:ysperrot@gmail.com][Y. Perrot]] | IRSN, France | |[[mailto:giada.petringa@lns.infn.it][G. Petringa]] | INFN Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, Catania, Italy | |[[mailto: quesada@us.es][J. M. Quesada Molina]] | Universidad de Sevilla, Sevilla, Spain | |[[mailto:Jose.RamosMendez @ucsf.edu][J. Ramos-Méndez]] | University of California, San Francisco, US | |[[mailto:francesco.romano@npl.co.uk][F. Romano]] | NPL, Teddington, UK | |[[mailto:dousatsu@uow.edu.au][D. Sakata]] | University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia | |[[mailto:Luis.Sarmiento@nuclear.lu.se][L. Sarmiento]]| Lund University, Lund, Sweden| |[[mailto:Takashi.Sasaki@kek.jp][T. Sasaki]] | KEK, Tsukuba, Japan | |[[mailto:Ioannis.Sechopoulos@radboudumc.nl][I. Sechopoulos]] | Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, The Netherlands | |[[mailto:edward.simpson@anu.edu.au][E. Simpson]] | Australian National University, Canberra, Australia | |[[mailto:t.toshitou.20@west-med.jp][T. Toshito]] | Nagoya Proton Therapy Center, Nagoya, Japan | |[[mailto:dwright@slac.stanford.edu][D. Wright]] | SLAC, Stanford, US |

List of current tests

Development of the benchmarking/regression system and integration of tests in geant-valD. Konstantinov and G. Latyshev , NRC Kurchatov Institute, IHEP

Pedro Arce] CIEMAT, Madrid, Spain
Test  geant-val test name Authors 
Photon Attenuation coefficients PhotonAttenuation S. Guatelli, L. Pandola
Electron Stopping Powers​ ElectronDEDX V. Ivantchenko
Low Energy Electron Backscattering​ ElectronBackScat P. Dondero, A. Mantero,V. Ivanchenko, M. Novak
Electron scattering from foils at 13-20 MeV kinetic energies ElecForwScat B. Faddegon, J. Ramos-Méndez
Electron scattering from foils at 13-20 MeV kinetic energies ElecForwScat B. Faddegon, J. Ramos-Méndez
Bremsstrahlung yield Bremsstrahlung B. Faddegon,J. Ramos-Méndez
Fano cavity Fano cavity P. Arce, M. Maire, M. Novak
Electron Dose Point Kernel LowEElecDPK S. Incerti, M.-C. Bordage, I. Kyriakou, Y. Perrot
Microdosimetry Microyz S. Incerti, I. Kyriakou
Brachytherapy dose rate Brachy-ir S. Guatelli, D. Cutajar, A. Le
Dosimetry for mammography Mammo C. Fedon, I. Sechopoulos
Hadronic nucleus-nucleus total inelastic cross section NucNucInelXS D. Sakata, E. Simpson, S. Guatelli
Bragg curves in water for 67.5 MeV protons LowEProtonBraggPeak B. Faddegon, J. Ramos-Méndez
Absolute neutron yield for protons ProtonC12NeutronYield B. Faddegon, J. Ramos-Méndez
Light ion (proton, 3He, carbon) range and depth dose curves in water LightIonBraggPeak M. Cortes-Giraldo, A. Perales, J. M. Quesada Molina
Production cross sections of different fragments C12FragCC C. Omachi, T. Toshito, T. Sasaki
62 MeV /n C-12 fragmentation on Carbon target LowEC12Frag C. Mancini-Terracciano
400 MeV/n C-12 fragmentation C12Frag D. Bolst, S. Guatelli, F. Romano
Estimation of proton radiobiological damage Radiobiology G. Petringa, GAP Cirrone L. Pandola, G. Cuttone